SFL Division 3A Semi-Final Report 2015



MOOREFIELD                    2-12

ATHY                                    2-08

Senior Reserve A Team

Senior Reserve A Team

The Senior Reserve A team secured their place in the division 3A final with a four point win over Athy in the highly entertaining game played in Athy on Monday evening.

Mark Murnaghan opened the scoring with a pointed free and a point from play in the opening two minutes before Corey Lammon kicked Athy’s first point in the 4th minute when he converted a free. Moorefield replied instantly with a Frank Hanniffy free followed by an excellent point from play from Ian Meehan after a great ball from Daire Dunne. Corey Lammon converted his second free in the 10th minute but Moorefield replied once again with points from Mark Murnaghan and Frank Hanniffy in the 13th and 17th minute to put them into a four point lead. Dean Roycroft pointed from a free for Athy in the 21st minute and Timmy Dunne levelled the game for the first time in the 25th minute when he beat Ian McDonnell for a goal after Tadgh Foley made a great run from the full back line to set up Dunne for the goal. Moorefield were back in the lead a minute later with a pointed free from Mark Murnaghan but Conor Harrington sent the teams into break level when he made a great run from midfield to knock over a score to leave a half time score of 0-07 to 1-04.

Athy dominated the opening 10 minutes of the second half with points coming from Sean Ronan, Corey Lammon and Dean Roycroft to put them into a three point lead. The teams were level for the third time in the game when Mick Donohoe beat James Roycroft for a goal after a good ball from Frank Hanniffy. Hanniffy converted a free in the 45th minute to put Moorefield back in the lead but Athy replied instantly with a goal from full forward Timmy Dunne to put them into a two point lead. The crucial score of the game came in the 49th minute when Moorefield were awarded a penalty which Mark Murnaghan successfully converted to put them into a 1 point lead. David Fennelly levelled the game a minute later with a good point from play and with ten minutes left to play it looked as if either team could win this game.

Moorefield finished strongly and kicked four unanswered points; Ian McDonnell kicked two brilliant 45 yard frees in the 52nd followed by two good points from play from Robbie Mullens and Mark Murnaghan to win the game 2-12 to 2-08, they now play Naas in the final.

Moorefield Scorers: Mark Murnaghan 1-05, Mick Donohoe 1-00, Frank Hanniffy 0-03, Ian McDonnell 0-02, Ian Meehan 0-01, Robbie Mullens 0-01.

Moorefield: Ian McDonnell, Colin Barrett, Shane Newman, Warren Kealy, Sean Dempsey, Padraig O’Flynn, Kevin O’Donnell, Ryan Moore, Adam O’Donnell, Daire Dunne, Conor McLoughlin, Ian Meehan, Frank Hanniffy, Mark Murnaghan, Davie Brannigan.

Subs: Robbie Mullens – Daire Dunne and Mick Donohoe for Davie Brannigan.

This entry was posted in Archive 2015. Bookmark the permalink.