Junior A Champions 2015

Written by admin. Posted in Roll of Honour 2015

Published on October 05, 2015 with

Warning: simplexml_load_string(): Entity: line 1: parser error : Start tag expected, '<' not found in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 64

Warning: simplexml_load_string(): The Picasa API is deprecated. See https://developers.google.com/picasa-web/ for in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 64

Warning: simplexml_load_string(): ^ in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 64

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/moorefie/public_html/wp-content/plugins/picasna/picasna-functions.php on line 103

Congratulations to the Ladies football team and management who won the Junior A Championship on Saturday! 

Moorefield 0-12

Na Fianna 1-05

The team and management put in a fantastic effort throughout the year and all their hard work paid off when they secured the title in an exciting game. 

Best of luck to all involved in the Leinster Championship campaign! 



MOOREFIELD        0-12

NA FIANNA             1-05


Moorefield are the Junior A Champions for 2015 after an exciting final against Na Fianna on Saturday evening. These two teams have played each other three times this year that saw Na Fianna defeating Moorefield on all three occasions but on Saturday Moorefield played with heart, determination and belief and got the well deserved win to claim the Junior A title.


Na Fianna opened the scoring in the third minute with a point from play by centre half forward Stacey Cannon. Moorefield replied two minutes later when they were rewarded a penalty that Derbhail Kelly converted over the bar. Derbhail Kelly put Moorefield in the lead for the first time in the seventh minute with an excellent point from play. The next score of the game came in the 17th minute with another good point from play by Stacey Cannon to level the game and Mikaela McKenna put them in the lead in the twentieth minute with a excellent point from play. Moorefield were level again three minutes later with a brilliant point by Leanne Curran after good work from Aisling Curley and Ciara Conaty and they took the lead for the second time when Dearbhail Kelly kicked her third point of the game after a great ball from Samantha Cullen. Stacey Cannon had the teams level for the fourth time with a pointed free in the twenty fifth minute but Moorefield went into the break with a one point advantage after a well worked score from Hannah Quirke.


Dearbhail Kelly opened the scoring in the second half with another good point from play to put Moorefield two points clear. Mikaela McKenna pointed from a free to reduce the deficit to a point but Moorefield replied instanty with a superb point by Leanne Curran who was causing havoc to the Na Fianna full back line. A crucial moment in the game was a brilliant penalty save by Moorefields Niamh Doyle in the 40th minute; Moorefield won poessesion from the kick out and Kate Hannon made a great run to knock over a score to put them three points clear. Mikaela McKenna scored a much needed goal for Na Fianna in the 43rd minute after great work from Stacey Cannon and Chloe Smullen. Moorefield dug deep after the goal and completely dominated the last seventeen minutes of the game, they defended brilliantly, controlled midfield and kicked some great points. Derbhail Kelly was having an excellent game at centre half forward and she put Moorefield back in the lead with her fourth point of the game. Ciara Conaty made a great run from midfield to put Moorefield two points clear and a Dearbhail Kelly pointed free and point from Aisling Curley in the 30th minute secured Moorefield their Junior A Championship title.


Moorefield: Niamh Doyle, Shauna Doyle, Ciara Bruce, Michelle Curley, Aisling Curley, Shauna Murray, Amber Masterson, Ciara Conaty, Kate Hannon, Emma Curley, Dearbhail Kelly, Hannah Quirke, Samantha Cullen, Leanne Curran, Kayleigh Humphries.

Subs: Sheena O’Brien, Fionnuala Kelly and Rachel McNamara


Na Fianna: Aileen Taffe, Christine Hynes, Amy Ennis, Roisin Murphy, Emily Jacob, Avril Moran, Danielle McDonald, Rachel Reidy, Chloe Smullen, Niamh Dunne, Stacey Cannon, Nicole Cannon, Aimee Fitzpatrick, Sinead Crowe, Mikaela McKenna.

Subs: Katie McManmon

Thanks to Pat Tinsley and Patrick Scully for the photos!